Exciting times

Considering how much time I spend moving my car and leeching free WiFi, a surprising number of things can happen in a day. First thing Tuesday morning I got a call from the people whose open house I went to Sunday, offering me the room. Since I’d just woken up and already had a couple other places scheduled to see, I told them I’d have a decision by the end of the day. This was the nicest place I’ve seen, with the most normal people, but also the most expensive (though not by much). After thinking it over for a while, obsessively double-checking craigslist for other apartment listings, and considering the pros (great location, well-maintained, absent landlord, clean and bright, garage, back patio, laundry facilities, dishwasher, central heating, happy well adjusted roommates who like each other) with the cons (a little pricier, living with three other people) I decided to take it. So I’ll be picking up the keys in a day or two and hopefully moving in this weekend. That conflicts with my plans to see the Chinese new year parade, not to mention the Cat Power show, but maybe I can push it back to a Sun/Mon move. Anyone up for reviving pizza night in SB?

After that triumph, I headed right out to take care of the most vital order of business for any new resident: I got a new library card. For those who haven’t seen it, I highly recommend a visit to the amazing San Francisco Public Library, it has things I never even thought to want in a library, like a small business research and a tool lending center. I love this town.

In the silver lining department, I went to move my car this morning and discovered that the driver’s side mirror had been pulverised. I looked a liitle closer and saw that the culprit had left a business card tucked into the mess, which was a relief. I tend to be kind of pessimistic regarding human nature, nice to be proven wrong occasionally. So now I know a realtor in the area (which might come in handy), and after a little research I also have a mechanic (which will definitely come in handy).

One response to “Exciting times

  1. Unbelievable. Yet another one of my dearest friends with a blog. No way. Not fair. I feel so behind the times, so 2004. Sigh. I suppose my title of AofC should be revoked…

    However,it is an excellent idea, especially given your two points in the very first post.

    Congratulations on finding a place so quickly! I’m sure it’s just the first of many great things for you.

Leave a Reply

