There’s a GAP at the corner of Haight & Ashbury

And now I’ve had Big Yellow Taxi stuck in my head all day.

I did a lot traveling around the city yesterday, starting out downtown where I got my car fixed and did some window shopping in the boutiques around Union Square. After I picked up my car I decided to try to track down an obscure DVD I’ve been looking for, so I headed out to the far end of Fillmore. That part of town is called the Western Addition, and I’d never been there. Turns out it’s a relatively new (by San Francisco standards) part of town and as far as I could tell very ethically diverse. When the DVD shop didn’t have what I was looking for I wandered next door, and was immediately stopped dead in my tracks. I had just stumbled upon Harputs, a wonderland of all things Adidas. In fact, they were busy putting in a new Y3 boutique next door, dedicated to the collaboration between Japanese designer Yohji Yamamoto and Adidas. I’m ridiculously loyal to Adidas, go ahead and laugh but they are the only shoe that fits me every time and looks stylish to boot. I was finally forced to throw mine away last week, so it wasn’t too hard for them to sell me a pair of Spezials in my favorite color.

I still hadn’t found my DVD though, so I headed over to Amoeba on Haight. Luckily for me as I walked in I saw the DVD section to my right, because if I had actually set foot on the main floor where the music is my life would’ve ground to a halt right there. As it was, my mouth watered and I felt a little light-headed just being in proximity to so much musical goodness. I checked the DVDs and ducked out as soon as possible, I’ll have to wait to go back when I’m independently wealthy and living a life of leisure.

So, yeah. Remind me to clutch my wallet close to my body whenever leaving the house here.

Leave a Reply

