Home again

I’ve spent the last couple of days moving into my new permanent home here in San Francisco, and it’s an enormous relief just to have a little space to myself again. I don’t handle homelessness well, it’s disconcerting and really affected my short-term memory and attention span in ways I hadn’t expected. My new roommates welcomed me with flowers and help putting my bed and table together. There’s still a lot of unpacking to do, and if anyone finds my favorite pillow, my coffeepot or my black Chucks please let me know.

Since the coffeepot is AWOL, I decided this morning to go check out Phil’z Coffee at Folsom and 24th. There’s a pretty solid description of the Phil’z experience here, though it leaves out descibing the patrons. Hippies and lunatics, mostly, but very entertaining. I spent about half an hour listening to a funny older woman harangue Phil about his love life, then headed over to El Tonayense for a burrito. I’ve heard a lot about the Mission’s Mexican food, especially from ex-pat San Franciscans who’ll swear there’s nothing better. Maybe my expectations were too high, but I’ve been disappointed. It’s not as good as Santa Barbara, and nowhere near as transcendent as the food in Tucson. I’ll keep searching though, maybe I just haven’t found the right spots. After lunch I walked home past a brand-new hostel that looks like the perfect place for Smashley to camp out with the TPATT (that would be Total Party All The Time for the unitiated) crew when they descend on the city. And of course I picked up some earplugs just in case I manage to sneak in to the sold out High On Fire show tonight at 12 Galaxies, part of the annual Noise Pop festival. Wish me luck.

One response to “Home again

  1. Oh i am a jealous friend indeed your in SF and I am still stuck dealing with air the color of poo, people who find plastic body parts attractive and miserable public transportation. sigh. any job prospects?

Leave a Reply

