Weekend recovery, day two

I’m still struggling a bit to recover from the sleep deprivation and all-around good times of last weekend, but luckily I have the time. I’ve made a pledge to uphold the “what happens in Portland, stays in Portland” rule, so I’ll just mention a couple of the more interesting places we visited and leave out what exactly we did there. Ahem.

Eleni’s Estiatorio – Both elegant and fun, and the food lived up to the hype. I’m not sure if they stay open past close and pour free shots of Ouzo for all their customers, but I can guarantee that if you bring eight attractive women in party clothes the service will be outstanding.

The Kennedy School – An elementary school-turned-pub, with a movie theater in the auditorium, pizza in the teacher’s lounge, and bars in the classrooms. You can even stay the night in someone’s old homeroom. Word to the wise: anyone canoodling in the soaking pool is visible from the hallway.

The Doug Fir – Currently the hippest hot spot in Portland, the Doug Fir somehow makes the combination of ultramodern and log cabin work. Plus they continue the fine Portland tradition of bar/restaurant/club/motel one-stop evenings. Which could come in handy after a few of their mint juleps, served in pint glasses.

2 responses to “Weekend recovery, day two

  1. Dude! I just read about that place (Doug Fir) in some design magazine. Or website. Or somewhere. Of course, I can’t find it now. But I can’t believe you guys went. I’m so jealous.

Leave a Reply

