Ball and chain

I wanted to comment on Tara’s post about the future of connectivity, but the big B says I need a plug in to do it there. Luckily I have my own forum for my opinion here. How great is that?

The original reasons for web based apps were portability and platform independence, which are still huge issues for me. I use a Mac at home, a PC at work, and I take my beloved Linux-based 770 with me everywhere I go. I use web-based apps because they work on all of those machines equally well, and I don’t have to worry about syncing up my various devices or losing data if one of them fails.

Yes, there are obvious compromises to be made when you move everything online. Bandwidth problems, security issues, the chance that the service you use will go up in a puff of smoke one day. Those are not small issues, but they can be solved. Ideally I’d like to be able to store my personal data on my own server in a standard format and be able to point to/pull from it as necessary as I navigate the web on desktop, laptop, phone or whatever. Seem like a far away goal? Try replacing “my own server” with “home media center” and think about it for a minute.

Leave a Reply

