Their first album was best

Just got an email that starts:

Dear Old Skool Account-Holding Flickr Member,

On March 15th we’ll be discontinuing the old email-based
Flickr sign in system. From that point on, everyone will
have to use a Yahoo! ID to sign in to Flickr.

It’s not like I didn’t know this was coming, it was inevitable really. It’s not even that I mind having things linked; after all Google knows my home address, credit card number, where I go at night and who my friends are. No, it’s just that I was special, damn it! I got to go in through the secret VIP entrance and to keep my account on the QT like all the cool kids.

More importantly to me, my Yahoo account was originally opened just to catch spam and doesn’t even have my name on it. I know it doesn’t matter for the purposes of Flickr, but it bugs me and I try not to use it. I had to resuscitate it for the Hack Day groups and it was a irritating then too. Just try to update your display options to show your name in the groups and you’ll see that it isn’t enough for your email to be unique.

Anyway this isn’t meant to be a rambling diatribe on Yahoo policies, just a note to say that I remain as resistant to change as ever. Viva!

One response to “Their first album was best

  1. I wouldn’t mind so much if it would actually link my yahoo photo account to my flickr account… though I will miss going through the back door.

Leave a Reply

